Great Teachers Always…

Here goes my first blog post as a full-time middle school writing teacher after two years of working as an instructional coach.

For the first week in my 7th and 8th grade classroom, we worked on creating time capsules that each student will open on the last day of school. One of the items included was a survey where, among other things, I asked my students to complete this sentence: “Great teachers always…” Here is what they said, ranked by how many students said it:

teacher1st: RESPECT STUDENTS

2nd: LISTEN

tie for 3rd: HELP and are KIND

Put together, I feel like it makes a great sentence that I can use to guide my teaching this year:

“Great teachers always respect students, listen, help, and are kind.”

It also left me wondering, what does being respected by a teacher look like to a 12 – 14 year old? That may be the next thing I ask!

Leave a Reply

