Second Semester – a Chance for Something New

I hope every teacher has experienced some great successes this first semester. The second semester is a fresh start for both teachers and students. After a restful break, we all come back to school ready to continue with what was working, and make changes in what wasn’t.

As teachers it is important to reestablish classroom procedures during those first few days back. Don’t be afraid to change and try something new in your classroom… the beginning of second semester can be a great time to implement change, large or small.

For example, second semester might be a great time to try out eliminating hand-raising and replacing it with the Cold Call method for questioning your students. Or maybe start having your students track their own data.

But even if you don’t plan to implement a large change, it is important to take the time revisit the procedures you want to continue from first semester. As most teachers know, sometimes it seems like the 2 weeks of vacation are enough for our students to forget everything they ever knew!
Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 8.20.32 PM

2 thoughts on “Second Semester – a Chance for Something New

  1. I love these 2 strategies! I think I may try to incorporate them. They make sense; I guess I always avoided them because I didn’t want to make anyone feel “dumb,” however I can see how it would improve engagement!

    Like

    • Alicia,

      I’d say I use it about 75% of the time. There are times, like when introducing new information, that it doesn’t work as well. It can feel a little unnatural at first to cold call students, but once I started I noticed that I could differentiate my questioning by asking struggling students the easier questions. That way they stay engaged, but can usually avoid embarrassment.

      Laura

      Like

Leave a Reply

